Memphis Personal Injury Attorneys
Generations of Injury Lawyers Serving Generations of Clients in Memphis
All accidents come with a cost. Car accidents, workplace accidents, accidents involving defective products, fatal accidents—all of these rob us of our health, our careers, and our financial security. When someone else’s negligence takes away our future and peace of mind, it’s only right that they (or their insurers) pay for the losses we suffer. At Daniel Law Firm, our job is holding at-fault drivers, companies, and insurers accountable for the harm they cause you.
Our Memphis personal injury lawyer has been fighting for the victims of car accidents and other personal injury causes since 1968. Decades of experience with winning results in court have made us one of Tennessee’s premier personal injury law firms. We’ve won million-dollar and multi-million-dollar verdicts and settlements, giving our clients a second chance at a better life—and our personal injury lawyers in Memphis have done it while providing our clients with compassion and attentive care unlike the larger firms that saturate our industry.
How Long Do You Have to File a Personal Injury Claim?
According to Tenn. Code § 28-3-104(a)(1), you generally have one year to file a personal injury claim. There are exceptions, however, that could potentially extend the statute of limitations, including:
- Wrongful Death: Because death is often times not immediate, the family of the deceased may get an extension. In these types of situations, the statue of limitations will typically be started at the time of death instead of the the date of the accident.
- Catastrophic Injury: If the injury of an accident causes mental incompetence, it may be necessary for a family member to file a claim on the victim's behalf. Because determining competence and surrogate rights can take time, these types of injury claims will often get delayed or extended.
- Wrongful Concealment: Because it is in the defendant's best interest to run out the statute of limitations. If a defendant is found to be intentionally withholding evidence necessary for a claim to progress, then he/she will be penalized and the statute of limitations will likely be extended to compensate for the lost time.
There is very little that is "straightforward" when it comes to personal injury claims. If you have been seriously injured in an accident and are unclear on what the statute of limitations would be for your case, please do not hesitate to contact our team to arrange a free consultation. We will evaluate the specifics of your claim and help you determine your legal options.
What You Can Claim in a Personal Injury Lawsuit
The avenues of recovery available to you will vary—which is why it’s important to learn about your options in a free consultation—but the broad strokes are easy enough to explain. In general, you can claim any concrete financial loss related to your accident.
Damages in a Tennessee personal injury claim include:
- Medical expenses
- Loss of property
- Loss of wages
- Diminished earning capacity
- The cost of long-term care
In some cases, you may be able to recover pain and suffering, known legally as “general damages” or “non-economic damages.” In Tennessee, these types of damages are capped at $750,000 in most injury claims and $1,000,000 in catastrophic injury claims. What is considered a catastrophic injury? A simple way of putting it is this: if an injury has changed the way you live forever, then it is catastrophic.
If you’re looking for a Memphis personal injury attorney who cares about you and your future, call the Daniel Law Firm at (901) 295-0100 today.